Military berets: how to recognize them?

Categories: Blog

Wearing a beret is very common in the different corps of the army, and allows you to identify at a glance which regiment a soldier belongs to! Initially worn by French alpine hunters from 1891, it is used today by various armies such as the United States or Germany. This guide will allow you to identify the different types of berets existing in the French army …

The dark blue beret

One of the most popular berets is the dark blue, also known as the “all arms” beret. This dark blue beret is worn by the regiments:

  • infantry

  • armored weapon

  • special frame

  • corps of expert officers

  • artillery

  • of the marine infantry

  • of the staff specialties group

  • hunters on foot

  • air commando riflemen

  • of the Franco-German Brigade

  • etc…

The beret is the same for all these regiments but among them we can recognize them by the way it is worn. For example, the Franco-German Brigade wears the beret to the left with the badge to the right. we call it wearing it “à Allemande”.

The red beret

The red beret is reserved for metropolitan parachute regiments and parachutists of marine troops. It is also called “Amaranth” which is a purple colored plant and which is a symbol of immortality because it does not wither. It was from 1944 that the first parachute hunter regiments began to wear the “Amarante” beret. Today, with a few exceptions, all airborne units of the French army use it.

The green beret

The green beret is one that can be confusing. Why ? Indeed, three shades of green represent several different regiments. The beret of the soldiers of the Foreign Legion has been wearing a green beret since 1949 (first attributed to the Foreign Parachute Battalions and later to the whole of the Foreign Legion). It should not be confused with that of the marine commandos who also wears a green beret which is a little darker and pale …

The Alpine beret

In addition to having been the first to wear the beret in the army. The Alpine troops are very easily recognizable with their headgear. Much wider than the berets seen previously, it has become the hallmark of Alpine hunters and its shape has given it the famous nickname of “tart”.

And many others…

The military beret has today become essential in most armies. There are many others such as the black beret worn by the 4th, 5th, 16th and 17th fighter battalions or the light blue UN beret.

You are now an expert in the military beret! You can find all these berets on the vetsé website …